Everyone has the right to privacy, safety and the feeling of security. If you have recently been through a break-up or had an argument with someone with whom you used to live, they may be acting in unpredictable ways because they are angry or because they want to get back into your life. Not knowing what they are going to do next can be scary and worrying.
Many people do not do anything when they start to feel threatened by a toxic ex. However, they could be in danger. It is important to know that you have the right to file an order of protection in the event of a person harassing you or making you feel unsafe in any way. The following is an overview of how you can protect yourself from an aggressive ex in South Carolina.
The law on protective orders in South Carolina
In South Carolina, orders of protection are often referred to as restraining orders. They are legally enforceable documents that demand the person in question stays a certain distance away from the person being protected at all times. Protective orders in South Carolina can vary in the terms set out. For example, some protective orders may forbid the person to visit certain places.
The duration of the order
When a restraining order is put in place in South Carolina, it is. It cannot last longer than one year initially, but it may be extended.
What happens if a restraining order is violated?
If a restraining order is violated, the violator will be imprisoned in jail for a maximum of 30 days or fined a maximum of $200. This could be extended up to one year if the defendant is found to be in contempt of court.
If you are currently dealing with an ex who is being problematic, make sure that youas well as the safety of your loved ones.